Only Amazing Recipes

Amazing gluten-free, low GI, completely guilt-free and simply delicious and healthy food!

Russian Cabbage Salad

Leave a comment


cabbage salad

When I became pregnant I was expecting to start craving for something weird, like to chew some rubber or suddenly become a Marmite fan. But what actually  happened was even less expected. I started craving for Russian food. You might think there is nothing strange in it, since I am Russian. But during all those years living in other countries I never ate and never actually even wanted to eat Russian food. I never entered “Eastern European Food” stores, didn’t ask my friends to bring me black bread, Russian biscuits or mayo. And suddenly I started dreaming about Borsch, Vinegret and Pel’meni.

I quickly found a “Baltic Food” store nearby and devoted an entire weekend to cooking Russian dishes. So, next a few posts are going to be a little Russian cuisine excursion! Hope you’ll like it. 🙂

Russian cabbage salad is a very tasty, light and easy to make. It perfectly complements meaty and potato dishes. The Russians often eat it with kotlety (russian burgers) or mashed potatos.Russian ladies opt for this salad in spring when it is time to get their bikini bodies ready. 😉

Ingredients: 

  • 1/2 medium cabbage
  • 1 large carrot
  • Sun flower oil
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • 1/2 white onion

Optional:

  • apple
  • dill

Directions:

Shred the cabbage,carrot and onion thinly. (Sometimes you can come across a cabbage salad with the ingredients coarsely chopped but to my taste the finer you shred them, the tastier your salad will be.)

Place the cabbage and the other ingredients in a large bowl and add the salt. Gently squeeze the ingredients for 2-3 min.until the cabbage releases some juice.

Drizzle the salad with some white vinegar and and squeeze it a bit more – it will release more juice. Taste to check if you are happy with salt and vinegar – I personally like it salty and “vinegary”. You can also add a finely shredded apple. Sprinkle with dill if you like (I do!)

Add some sun flower (I prefer) or olive oil and let it cool in the fridge for a couple of hours.

Thats it! So easy!

cabbage salad 2

Enjoy!

P.S. It is to be served cool, so keep it in the fridge!

Leave a Reply

