Only Amazing Recipes

Amazing gluten-free, low GI, completely guilt-free and simply delicious and healthy food!

Lemon cheesecake

Leave a comment


To get from good to great first you have to get from bad to good. So they say. I dont think I ever got to “great”. Usually I am skidding somewhere between bad and not that bad… But this time, I think, I jumped literally from nothing straight to great!

I had never made a cheesecake. They always seemed to me so mysterious, beyond my understanding and definitely abilities. Because I never made them, I also hardly ever eaten them – as a consequence. I avoid flour and sugar and of course the cheesecakes you buy in a shop or order in a restaurant are full of this stuff!

Having had a great experience with Masterchef recipes, I decided to try and adopt one of them according to my Low GI needs.

Lets see how it went!

Ingredients:

Base:
1/3 cup ground almonds (almond meal)
3/4 cup plain flour (in the original recipe. Instead of plain flour I used a mix of soya flour, chickpeas flour and organic milled Flaxseed)
1/4 cup caster sugar (in the original recipe. I used fruit sugar)
90g chilled butter, chopped

Filling:
330g cream cheese, softened
500g fresh ricotta
4 eggs
1 1/3 cups caster sugar (fruit sugar in my case)
1 tablespoon grated lemon rind
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 tablespoons cornflour
11/2 tablespoons water

Strawberries and raspberries, to decorate

1. Preheat oven to 150 C.

2. To make the base, place the ground almonds, flour, sugar and butter into a bowl. Rub mixture with your fingertips until it forms coarse crumbs.

3 Line the base of a 20cm spring form tin with non-stick baking paper. Place the base mixture in the tin and press gently with fingers until even and then smooth out with the back of a spoon. Bake for 15 minutes or until light golden, set aside.

4 To make the filling, place the cream cheese, ricotta, eggs, sugar, lemon rind, juice and vanilla in a food processor. Combine the cornflour and water until smooth and add to the cheese mixture. Process the mixture until smooth.

5 Grease the sides of the cake tin with a little butter and then pour the filling over the base. Tap lightly to remove any air bubbles. Bake for 1 hour. Turn the oven off and stand the cake in the oven for 1 hour, leaving the door closed. Refrigerate until cold and serve with fresh berries.

Tip: if you baking tin is more than 20 cm (e.g. mine is 25 cm), cook the cake 10 min less to avoid “cracking”.

Everything worked fantastic! It turned out to be an absolutely perfect cheesecake you get from M&S, only mine is sugar free, gluten free and also has a low glycemic index:)

It was a tiny bit too sweet – the only thing I’d change! But you can live with it, cant you? 🙂

Thanks go to Donna Hay, MasterChef Australia judge and a cook book writer. 

Leave a Reply

