Only Amazing Recipes

Amazing gluten-free, low GI, completely guilt-free and simply delicious and healthy food!

Chapati (Roti)

Leave a comment


I said I didnt eat flour. I lied. I do eat bread sometimes. Usually I make it myself using “healthy” types of flour and eat it only with other carbohydrates (jam, for example).
I have always loved chapati (or roti – another name!). I used to buy them in the Indian supermarkets. They are absolutely yammi! You can create a variety of delicious stuffings for your chapati (vegetarian or not), or eat them just as they are! (I prefer this jam – made with grape juice instead of sugar).
I would never imagined that I could make chapati myself but it turned out to be an easy-peasy undertaking!
There are various versions of this indian dish. Yogurt, oil and ghee (butter) can be used in preparation. I use the simplest and the most healthy one I believe 🙂
Ingredients for 8 chapati:
  • 1 cup of chapati flour (atta) or just wholemeal flour
  • salt
  • 1/5 cup of lukewarm water
You will also need some flour for rolling chapatis.
Preparation:
1. Put the flour in a deep bowl.
2. Add a pinch of salt.
3. Slowly add water and mix at the same time.
4. Knead the soft dough for 3-4 min.

If the dough is too sticky, add some more flour.

5. Take the dough out and knead for a few more minutes on a flat surface.
6. Cover the dough and let it rest for 15 min. or so.
7. Divide the dough into 8 smaller balls.
8. Roll the roti with the rolling pin on a flat surface sprinkled with dry flour.
9. Place a chatati on a hot pan. (no oil! just a hot pan!)
10. A few seconds after check the other side – it must have a few light blown spots signalling “I am ready! :)”.
11. Turn the chapati around and let it cook on another side for a few seconds.
Interesting fact. When still in a pan, you will see your flat bread suddenly becoming a balloon! I will appreciate if somebody explains me this phenomenon. It is a miracle for me. Just use a wooden spatula to flatten it 🙂
Your delicious chapati is ready in 2-3 min.
If you want to see how to make chapati – watch this video . It is a wonderful Indian lady who inspired me to cook Indian.
बॉन एपेतीत
Bon Appeti!
Inspired by: India
Cooking tips: Manjula (manjulaskitchen.com)
Leave a Reply

